My mom dont really mix with the outside world and I'm sure there isnt any rivalry against her. However, for months, there's this person who have been calling my house every other morning after my dad left house. After my mom were to pick up the phone, that person will just remain silent and hang up. Frustrated, my family decided to change our house number and make it private as well as not releasing our number other than official matters like to the school. Suprisingly, the prank call-er still managed to get hold of our number and called without making any sound again. My mom dont think installing a caller id gonna help as the person might be using an unknown number and most of my relatives are in malaysia, when they need to contact my mom, number calling to singapore from malaysia will remain as private or unknown. Any solutions?
hungry ghost.
That person have been calling since january. Dont tell me this is a hungry ghost year.
divert it to 999
Dun use house phone lah, all use handphone can liao mah, get your money a phone and buy hot100 can liao
Originally posted by coldzero:My mom dont really mix with the outside world and I'm sure there isnt any rivalry against her. However, for months, there's this person who have been calling my house every other morning after my dad left house. After my mom were to pick up the phone, that person will just remain silent and hang up. Frustrated, my family decided to change our house number and make it private as well as not releasing our number other than official matters like to the school. Suprisingly, the prank call-er still managed to get hold of our number and called without making any sound again. My mom dont think installing a caller id gonna help as the person might be using an unknown number and most of my relatives are in malaysia, when they need to contact my mom, number calling to singapore from malaysia will remain as private or unknown. Any solutions?
call ur telco's customer service to trace the call, or ask for any other solution.
Change again and don't tell.
dun use house fone (land line)
all use handphone
Sometimes is because maybe your dsl filter spoil, it will cause the phone line to mix up and call yourself. Sometimes I have calls where I hear my own voice, though exactly what I said lah, if not I cry liao..
i had a similar incident last year...
i got my telco to trace the call and made a report...
then the IO asked if i wanna bring this up to court but i told them to just issue a warning letter to the caller...
Originally posted by coldzero:My mom dont really mix with the outside world and I'm sure there isnt any rivalry against her. However, for months, there's this person who have been calling my house every other morning after my dad left house. After my mom were to pick up the phone, that person will just remain silent and hang up. Frustrated, my family decided to change our house number and make it private as well as not releasing our number other than official matters like to the school. Suprisingly, the prank call-er still managed to get hold of our number and called without making any sound again. My mom dont think installing a caller id gonna help as the person might be using an unknown number and most of my relatives are in malaysia, when they need to contact my mom, number calling to singapore from malaysia will remain as private or unknown. Any solutions?
Get a phone with caller ID and answering machine. If the person has no caller ID, then just ask your mum not to pick up any calls with no caller ID.
The answering machine is good for scanning the call. Let every call with no caller ID goes into the answering machine. If the call is legit, the person can leave a message....
Originally posted by honeymouse:Get a phone with caller ID and answering machine. If the person has no caller ID, then just ask your mum not to pick up any calls with no caller ID.
The answering machine is good for scanning the call. Let every call with no caller ID goes into the answering machine. If the call is legit, the person can leave a message....
u watch police detective shows with the idea of "tracing the location thru turning up the volume of the playback".
Originally posted by Rednano:
u watch police detective shows with the idea of "tracing the location thru turning up the volume of the playback".
Nope... that's not what I meant by scanning the call. I am talking about letting the answering machine take the call. I don't think the person makes the prank calls is going to leave a message, is he? He will get sick of it after a while.
On the other hand, if the call is legitimate, the caller can easily leave a message. We can usually hear the caller's voice when they leave a message so if it's someone you know, you can always pick up the call.
i experience this few years ago. that person keeps calling in the middle of the night when everyone is sleeping. the telco managed to trace the culprit and send him a warning letter
Originally posted by sexy girls:i experience this few years ago. that person keeps calling in the middle of the night when everyone is sleeping. the telco managed to trace the culprit and send him a warning letter
this technology now no good. i got one friend. a girl my age early 20s, then got this bugger fat 30 plus obsessive PRC man wants her... fuck... u noe what he did... he uses foreign internet pple to actually call logged her in/out calls of her mobile phone and records the conversations... but no GPS tracking. even here the telco oso cant do anything... at first we thought he go call the telco to somehow bug the line or he duplicated her sim card "2 sims cards, 2 phone" technology.... then reuters reported of this syndicate... but there r still other police no catch yet.
u noe y i noe, cos got 1 time, i called her to just go eat dinner as a friend, cos she treated me one time, i just want to return the treat favour. then the next night, this fucker called me on my mobile (tracking log) and crazy yelled at me "eh, i am her husband, stop ur calls to her"...etc. fuck. she is not even married to him lor, and she even not considered this fucker as a potential marriage lor... fuck.
the girl was surprised too, she found out abt this when this bugger one day told her abt what she said to her mother. the conversation is her phone to her mother, so how did he know? even the mother didnt talk to the bugger abt it. yes, the mother only knew the bugger as an acquaintance, oso earlier though of him as a potential husband, as he got some money since in his 30s liao. but after this tracing and tracking, the mother is worried abt her daughter safety.
so as long as her phone got signal reception, he even knows when she on/off the phone...
erm get a new phone ?
Originally posted by cApitaland:erm get a new phone ?
not the phone prob. even change number, so long as he got hold of the new number, he just pay the foreign syndicate to additional trace the new number again.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i had a similar incident last year...
then the IO asked if i wanna bring this up to court but i told them to just issue a warning letter to the caller...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i had a similar incident last year...
You too hamsum lah.
i think best is divert to 999
tell u la most likely the prank call is from within the family... solution? tell them dun waste $$$...