Anyone keen to discuss?
the johnny kong one or wat?
I love discourses.
What about philosophy?
Philosophy is when folks with lots of free time indulge in non-productive thoughts to pass time.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Philosophy is when folks with lots of free time indulge in non-productive thoughts to pass time.
That's so negative. They don't think just because they have lots of free time.
Originally posted by FireIce:the johnny kong one or wat?
I don't know about Johnny Kong. Who is he?
å”仲尼 lah!
if u dunno then i know u is not going to tok about the his kind liao
u like the type tt is when a tree fell in the forest and there is no one to hear it, does it make a sound type isit?
Originally posted by FireIce:å”仲尼 lah!
if u dunno then i know u is not going to tok about the his kind liao
u like the type tt is when a tree fell in the forest and there is no one to hear it, does it make a sound type isit?
Yes..... that's the type I'm into!
Let me introduce to you a philosophy then called 'objectivism' a term coined by Ayn Rand that is extremely comprehensive and encompasses all aspects of Ethics and is an unassailable contribution especially in a culture that so highly values 'social harmony' over individuality, self sacrifice over self interest and the like. I cant tell you about it in a single post so i can only recommend
Go read up about it if you're interested, oh and maybe you should know her two main books - Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead are pretty damn thick![]()
Originally posted by ulquiorra87:Let me introduce to you a philosophy then called 'objectivism' a term coined by Ayn Rand that is extremely comprehensive and encompasses all aspects of Ethics and is an unassailable contribution especially in a culture that so highly values 'social harmony' over individuality, self sacrifice over self interest and the like. I cant tell you about it in a single post so i can only recommend
Go read up about it if you're interested, oh and maybe you should know her two main books - Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead are pretty damn thick
That's probably very advanced level. Not sure if I can digest but thank you for the reccommendation nontheless.
Just to share, I'm currently reading The Basics of Philosophy 4th edition by Nigel Warburton.
You read it before?
Discussing philosophy is like moving along the circumference of a circle.
Angle in the circle gives different co-ordinates on the circle.
Time, space, mentality and etc contributes the change in angle.
No one into religious philosophy?
Originally posted by cherrycola:
That's probably very advanced level. Not sure if I can digest but thank you for the reccommendation nontheless.Just to share, I'm currently reading The Basics of Philosophy 4th edition by Nigel Warburton.
You read it before?
Nope have not read it before and no its not advanced level I have totally no prior background in philosophy just came out of army only Havent even read 'Basics of philosophy' like you are.. But i still consumed the whole book and understood most of it you should try
I found Buddhist philosophy a bit illogical especially the cannot find faults with others which I cannot accept it.
Originally posted by Soosiangong:I found Buddhist philosophy a bit illogical especially the cannot find faults with others which I cannot accept it.
so we can find fault with you ? ...
Originally posted by Go:Discussing philosophy is like moving along the circumference of a circle.
Angle in the circle gives different co-ordinates on the circle.
Time, space, mentality and etc contributes the change in angle.
But there are no angles in a circle. Pardon me if I am wrong.
Originally posted by Soosiangong:No one into religious philosophy?
Care to share more on religious philosophy?
Originally posted by ulquiorra87:Nope have not read it before and no its not advanced level I have totally no prior background in philosophy just came out of army only Havent even read 'Basics of philosophy' like you are.. But i still consumed the whole book and understood most of it you should try
Ok. Perhaps I will consider reading that book after I finished the basics. Then probably we can exchange insights then. Hopefully by then, you still remember what you have read ![]()
Originally posted by Soosiangong:I found Buddhist philosophy a bit illogical especially the cannot find faults with others which I cannot accept it.
If I am not wrong, what it is trying to say is to try to overlook one's weaknesses but appreciate one's strengths.
Originally posted by Fatum:so we can find fault with you ? ...
Not that we can't find fault in him but its of trying not to find fault in others. Because when you find fault in others, you don't feel good as well. So if you don't feel good, why keep finding fault in others? It becomes a vicious cycle, you see. That's why, it's best to see the good in others so that in turn we feel good and is able to spread this positiveness around us, thereby creating a positive cycle ![]()
thats because buddhism is metaethical not metaphysical. logic in philosophy is very much a eurocentric concept
Originally posted by cherrycola:
Not that we can't find fault in him but its of trying not to find fault in others. Because when you find fault in others, you don't feel good as well. So if you don't feel good, why keep finding fault in others? It becomes a vicious cycle, you see. That's why, it's best to see the good in others so that in turn we feel good and is able to spread this positiveness around us, thereby creating a positive cycle
no, you don't get it ... I was just ganking a siao lang ....![]()
is colours real?
Originally posted by Fatum:no, you don't get it ... I was just ganking a siao lang ....
enlighten me. lol
Originally posted by skythewood:is colours real?
depends on which view you take. From the psychological view, it is the combination of primary colours that make what other colours you see.