Originally posted by LazerLordz:Hell, yes. What's SDF for? Pai swee?
It should be made applicable for basic language courses like ESL and whatnot.
hhmmmm, so gahmen rebate for foreign workers taking language course? to learn a new language is not that easy, so how long should the course run?
it's not late to learn something new. let the company pay as it's their employees after all. they want to go up,not down. we must not look down on them. give them guidance and i'm sure they will be very happy
Originally posted by skythewood:hhmmmm, so gahmen rebate for foreign workers taking language course? to learn a new language is not that easy, so how long should the course run?
well, it's a suggestion. SDF exists, and I feel that it should incorporate basic language skills. (Perhaps they do, could anyone clarify) I think a 1-2 months course in simple english phrases relevant to the industry would do the trick?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:They can't earn a living working in a non service line?
What if they are not apologetic?
Why make things difficult for non mandarin speaking citizens such as our Malay and Indian friends?
Why must the person earn extra cash by compromising non chinese customers' shopping experience? Can't he/she take up a cleaners job instead?
If he/she in the midst of taking English and still dun want to practise, then all the more we must be difficult to pressurise them to practise.
It's good to be (or appear to be) a saint but they don't need your (and our) sympathy, you know.
If they are not apologetic, then they dun deserve our empathy. I mentioned that in my other posts.I did not insist that if they are bad at their product knowledge or if they are rude, we should still tolerate.
I just do not agree with the way you put it that you INSIST in speaking in English on PURPOSE to make things difficult for them regardless of any situations. "I suggest when we encounter such service staff, we insist on speaking in English. If they fail to deliver good service due to communication barrier, lodge a complaint."
And hey, I dun have to appear to be a saint. There are people here who knows how good or how bad I am. I do not have to hide behind a computer and pretend.
And its not Sympathy I am trying to talk about. It just a bit of 人情味. If in case, you dun understand that, Babel Fish translates as touch of humanity.
ya...
each time i pass by a stall they will say "what do you want?" in chinese...prolly coz i look chinese ![]()
but i dun think that they should speak chinese even to chinese people...
wot happened to our main language? i mean its good that they're trying to preserve the language and culture...its ok for hawker centres...but for foodcourts? i dun think its appropriate...
the english standards for foodcourts here aren't good either...many a times the auntie will say "what you want?" like we owe her money liddat...
come one man...wtf happened to speak good english? i think M&Ms really is trying to turn this country into Chinatown, literally...lol
I do agree that we shd live and let live. If the chinaman or woman asks u in chinese, so be it. If we are chinese, then graciously reply in chinese. But if u speak english to her and she gives the wtf look, lodge a complaint by all means. All the more if she speaks chinese to a malay or indian.
But i do not agree with purposely speaking ang mo to make it difficult for them. Singapore is not inherently just an english speaking society....chinese is our roots too. Most are out to make a living, whether they truly have a passion for service or not. Must see their face, and their attitude too.
my fren working in apple shop kena this chinese lady customer who bought an 哎帕 touch but dunno how to transfer songs, so she insist the shop staff teach her how to use the 哎帕
and fortunately, the shop haben hired any chinese nationals yet
the chinese lady is working in a restaurant nearby as waitress
it was found that she no dl itunes tts why cannot transfer songs
she have no idea wat itunes is and as of now, there is no proper chinese term for it
so my fren tried to explain tt she has to go 苹果 websai to download and also the steps to transfer the songs.... painstakingly, in chinese.......
so.... even singaporean service staff have to be chinese-savvy in order to serve these customers......
means, either way, we are f**ked.
die liao. we die jialat2.
Even bus drivers also speak Chinese when he asked people to move in.
One funny incident when I was taking 170...the bus driver asked an Indian to tap his EZLink Card on the card reader in Mandarin. The Indian guy has no clue what the driver was talking about and kept answering back in English,"I don't speak Chinese!" but the driver continued to ask in Mandarin,"Have you tapped your card yet?" This went on for a while with both shouting at the top of their voice until someone nearby had to translate what the driver said in English to the Indian guy.
There were many tourists who were inside the bus as well and this couldn't have left a very good impression on them.
Originally posted by rainee:Even bus drivers also speak Chinese when he asked people to move in.
One funny incident when I was taking 170...the bus driver asked an Indian to tap his EZLink Card on the card reader in Mandarin. The Indian guy has no clue what the driver was talking about and kept answering back in English,"I don't speak Chinese!" but the driver continued to ask in Mandarin,"Have you tapped your card yet?" This went on for a while with both shouting at the top of their voice until someone nearby had to translate what the driver said in English to the Indian guy.
There were many tourists who were inside the bus as well and this couldn't have left a very good impression on them.
Originally posted by rainee:Even bus drivers also speak Chinese when he asked people to move in.
I think tourists will advise their friends to avoid singapore unless they can speak chinese ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:I think tourists will advise their friends to avoid singapore unless they can speak chinese
I suggest that the "Speak Mandarin Campaign" be extended to tourists.
Otherwise, they are not going to survive their holiday in Singapore. ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:I think tourists will advise their friends to avoid singapore unless they can speak chinese
i think they'll tell their friends...
"oh. i've been to china!"
Originally posted by sinicker:i think they'll tell their friends...
"oh. i've been to china!"
I've gone to china a few times recently and I can tell you it feels like singapore these days....or maybe its singapore that's feeling more like china![]()
My customer employed this sales staff who is a PRC. But same thing here, they didnt give her any lessons on English @ all & expects her to entertain to those walk-in customers..
There was once she called me during a wkend & told me in Chinese to help her..Initially, I thought something happened to her UNTIL i realised her "problem" >> 2 ang moh customers & she didn't know how to communicate with them..so she called me on my mobile & passed the phone to the ang moh so that I can attend to them..
Zzz.. =.=''' freak those PRCs..why is the boss even hiring her since I am like doing her job?
Went to Europe months ago and this ang moh asked me where're you from... I replied Singapore... He said, wow... Singapore's a nice city... I've been there before, merlion right? & It's in China am I right? ..................................................
There are already tourists from Japan who seem to be complaining about that. They had thought that Singapore is very big on English so they actually spent time to learn that language before they came over, and even bought electronic Japanese-English dictionary to help them along. But when they reached here, they found out the shop owners kept talking to them in Chinese instead.
Therein lies the huge potential problem Singapore will have as a tourist destination in the near future.
Only Mandarin speaking tourists will feel welcomed.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Therein lies the huge potential problem Singapore will have as a tourist destination in the near future.
Only Mandarin speaking tourists will feel welcomed.
haiz..and it becomes a vicious cycle. given enough time singapore will be populated only by the chinese.![]()
lets boycott shops that employ non-english speaking staff.
haha.
Originally posted by dragg:lets boycott shops that employ non-english speaking staff.
haha.
No point.
They have enough Mandarin speaking clientele to support them. ![]()
Originally posted by dragg:lets boycott shops that employ non-english speaking staff.
haha.
There are too many of them you wouldn't be able to survive if you did that.
Seems that citizens of the west are still asking where Singapore is after all these damn years. I tot F1 alrdy put us on the world map? We reached first world in 1 generation?? We are known to have bright mathematicians in our elementary schools? USA uses our textbooks?? Russia wants to model after us??
We are not as famous as the papers make us out to be, it seems.
We are invaded, confirmed. Show me any chinese restaurant u have been to which doesn't employ PRCs. Likewise for foodcourts, dept. stores etc etc. This is just the first step. Next we will see educated chinamen compete with us for fresh entry engineer, banking, finance, legal jobs etc.
i just thought of something. you guys are complaining abt speaking chinese.
but i had an issue with english.
my mom got into a cab one day and told the driver where we wanted to go. he turned around and went 'HUH?'. so my mom repeated herself. and he went 'huh' again.
so then i repeated what my mom said. in singlish. and he said (something along the lines of) 'orhhh!!!! next time don't speak like ang moh lah. i cannot understand one'.
hehe. my mom was very amused. =P