Originally posted by Short Ninja:Hmmm which one? LOL
Why need to know so much? Want to donate over a huge sum of inheritance?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Why need to know so much? Want to donate over a huge sum of inheritance?
The pic was probably taken in the early 80s as Changi Airport starts operation in 1980.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:
The pic was probably taken in the early 80s as Changi Airport starts operation in 1980.
And those flat flat escalators that you can push a trolley on or run on at the airport. Its a novelty for us kids.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
And those flat flat escalators that you can push a trolley on or run on at the airport. Its a novelty for us kids.
Yes, I remembered kids running along those flat escalators, one fell but I caught hold of him before he tumbled further.
80s was a generation of change, the start of the computer era.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Yes, I remembered kids running along those flat escalators, one fell but I caught hold of him before he tumbled further.
80s was a generation of change, the start of the computer era.
You are beri beri old then.......
Bet no one here remembers that Parkway Parde Roof top used to be a children playground.
Or that its 2nd floor has a chuckee cheese.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Bet no one here remembers that Parkway Parde Roof top used to be a children playground.
Or that its 2nd floor has a chuckee cheese.
I remembered Parkway roof top playground.
For Funan Centre, the top floor used to be a food court in the early 80s.
I remembered the first MRT starts from Toa Payoh to Ang Mo Kio. I still have the souvenir gold colored ticket for the ride.
I'm beri beri old. LOL..
Something about Sentosa in the 70s.
Roller skating rink, Coralarium, Rare Stone Museum, Surrender Chambers, Fort Siloso, Apollo Sentosa, Fort Siloso before the monorail start in the 80s.
I remember the craze for watches. A brand called West star?
Then it developed into a watch brand called Aries?
Those were the polo tee on sarong skirt and high cut sneakers days.
L.A.Gear was the coolest sneakers to wear!
And then there were the dark thick eyebrows and sloping neck t-shirt (from Flashdance) craze.
The local brands Heshe and 2nd Chance were all the rage then. Gucci, Lanvin and Cartier are the far away dream for many.![]()
White rabbit sweets was good enough for chinese new year.
Nowadays, recently eating white rabbit sweet broked and cracked my tooth.
Remember those days when dental clinic is in the school?
Reading 'Wu Long Yuan' comics at the shop opposite the school for $0.10 a book was already very atas and rich?
Kinda miss that comic. Dunno still can find and collect.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:White rabbit sweets was good enough for chinese new year.
Nowadays, recently eating white rabbit sweet broked and cracked my tooth.
Remember those days when dental clinic is in the school?
Reading 'Wu Long Yuan' comics at the shop opposite the school for $0.10 a book was already very atas and rich?
Kinda miss that comic. Dunno still can find and collect.
I remembered the White Rabbit and Xriten almond sweets and the gold coin chocolates I put for the kids during the CNY. Quality Street sweets and Kjeldsens butter cookies were always a favourite. Now my grandkids won't even look at them.![]()
Dunno much about the comics or school stuff. Too old for that.![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:For those who could remember anything about Singapore as far as your memory can take you please share.l will start first about some places families could swim and get together in the weekends without paying a single cent.
Singapore had a marine life once when children could easily pick up star fishes from the beach and catch sea horses and other marine life in plastic bags.Then there was no such place called 'Marine Parade ' the shore line was up to Fort Rd in front of 'Duke Hotel' (now I dont know what it is called).The shoreline at pasir panjang was located at about a reclaimed land where they built seafood 88.The only excess to labrador is a short jungle trek and climbing down rocks to the beach.Over at the east coast was another beautiful popular picnic and beach hangout called 'Mata ikan' but sadly it was one of the first to go.I need good participation from contributors to help me recall more....For the young people you could just post anything you hear from your Ah Kong or a friendly taxi driver>hahaha
Remembered next to Mata Ikan was Ayer Gemuruh. ![]()
arh yes.....then you should be of age to remember where is merdeka bridge.
my older officers in station thinks that merdeka bridge is actually cavenaugh bridge across singapore river between boat quay and funan centre.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:arh yes.....then you should be of age to remember where is merdeka bridge.
my older officers in station thinks that merdeka bridge is actually cavenaugh bridge across singapore river between boat quay and funan centre.
Over Nicoll Highway over Kallang built in the 50s. Used to be two Stone Lions now end up in SAFTI, I was told.
Cavenagh Bridge is the oldest surviving bridge across Singapore River.
Elizabeth walk! And the Satay!
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Elizabeth walk! And the Satay!
Queen Elizabeth Walk, Esplanade (the hawker centre) and then later the Satay Club next to it. A lot of touts then, pulling you to their stalls.
Does anyone remember those rattan bicycle seats?
Or those round round rattan seats.....Do you have it in your home nowadays?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Does anyone remember those rattan bicycle seats?
Or those round round rattan seats.....Do you have it in your home nowadays?
Those rattan bubble chairs and seats was replaced by plastic straps during 70s but by 80s I don't see them anymore.
The hanging rattan chair was a rage for the landed properties. A must have.![]()

Those days, still okay to ride standing up behind the pick up.
This pic is sis and classmates of kindergarten going to performance location.
Remember your kampung kindergarten?
The wooden lattice walls, the zinc roof and the cement floor?
This only pic I got, to illustrate the surroundings. Pic of sis and classmates rehearsing some spoon dance before their performance.
Nowadays kids are in fully air conditioned school envioronment under the hdb decks.....times are different.
Yup , Datsun blue pickups were plenty then. Before that was the old Volkwagon vans, and really old time were the old Bedford vans in the 50s.
I should put up some old pics, just lazy to dig out.![]()

Somewhere in Singapore cannot remember dated 1955.

Tortoise pond at Bright Hill Temple 1970.