Very important?Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:.....is it to have a good and proper command of english?????
good as in
speak comprehensibly, grammatically structured sentences and legibly writen?????
Not important meh?Originally posted by Homebody:Important meh??? To me, I can speak in whatever language as long as people can understnad, can already...Mostly Singlish lah!
Grammar or not, got ink or vocab... not important one!
I hate school. I think I've been brainwashed.Originally posted by MooKu:Not important meh?
As the world globalizes, you will be speaking in English to people all over the world. Don't you want to portray a good image of yourself?Of course it doesn't have to be excellent, but should be an acceptable standard bah? Writing legibly's important too, you know like Cambridge examinations, how our teachers always say "if you don't write properly they're probably not going to bother much about your script".
Alamak! I'm over that stage leow!!!!! Now I'm free to speak as much Singlish as I want!Originally posted by MooKu:Not important meh?
As the world globalizes, you will be speaking in English to people all over the world. Don't you want to portray a good image of yourself?Of course it doesn't have to be excellent, but should be an acceptable standard bah? Writing legibly's important too, you know like Cambridge examinations, how our teachers always say "if you don't write properly they're probably not going to bother much about your script".
erm, ok.Originally posted by Homebody:Alamak! I'm over that stage leow!!!!! Now I'm free to speak as much Singlish as I want!
Of coz I can always switch back if I want to. I'm multi-lingual. But in most cases, I prefer Singlish! Singlish rulez!![]()
*stroking a SAT preparation book in front of me*Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:.....is it to have a good and proper command of english?????
good as in
speak comprehensibly, grammatically structured sentences and legibly writen?????
Wah sey!!!! this is the ideal kinda language I've always wanna to learn... but stupid me never can get it right!!!Originally posted by FireIce:huh?
gong simi!???!!?!?
u wanna slang slang like ang moh sibo??!?!?!?
an zua?! u hab a pworblem with me speaking like this?
Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:.....is it to have a good and proper command of english?????
good as in
Originally posted by Homebody:Wah sey!!!! this is the ideal kinda language I've always wanna to learn... but stupid me never can get it right!!!
I was brought up in a 2 first-language environment (which I hated) hence my languages becomes so 'straightforwardly offbeat' with the what other Sgreans are speaking (i.e. I'm not used to mixing languages) coz I was fussy and pretty anal about getting everything right that I speak like a native speaker (in terms of choice of words, spelling, accent and even language jokes) in both languages in my younger days. People envy and start ousting me for using good language, saying I'm cocky as they couldn't switch to proper language usage.Originally posted by MooKu:
have you been imprisoned in your jc for too long?
I don't agree with your "If I can't beat them, I'll join them" view of things.Originally posted by Homebody:I was brought up in a 2 first-language environment (which I hated) hence my languages becomes so 'straightforwardly offbeat' with the what other Sgreans are speaking (i.e. I'm not used to mixing languages) coz I was fussy and pretty anal about getting everything right that I speak like a native speaker (in terms of choice of words, spelling, accent and even language jokes) in both languages in my younger days. People envy and start ousting me for using good language, saying I'm cocky as they couldn't switch to proper language usage.
So, now my attitude is "If I can't beat them, i'll join them" haha!
Singlish is something which I lack practice hence I'm trying my best to brush up on that with good o' Sgrean accent! Here is where I can do intensive practising through typing.
I've no problem reverting to my old language habits but I don't see the need to. I've enough avenues to maintain my languages with diff gps of frens. I'll be picking up my 2nd European language soon.
Nah.... I've moulded myself to be adaptable with diff crowds. I would always blend in. If folks speak proper English, I'll switch to proper English mode.. but if they speak Singlish, I'll be in Singlish mode.Originally posted by Kinokuniya:I don't agree with your "If I can't beat them, I'll join them" view of things.
Singlish is not exactly something which should be encouraged.
But that aside, those envious people you referred to haven't "beaten" you in anything, nor is there anything for you to "beat" them in, is there? If they laugh at your fluency in the two languages because of envy, that's no reason you should blend in with them. I just thought maybe it would better to try and spread good use of language around instead.
Very important MEH...Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:.....is it to have a good and proper command of english?????
good as in
Yes, I agree.Originally posted by Parka:Yeah, just try to be yourself.
/me puts the SAT prep book on an altar and worships itOriginally posted by Xcert:*stroking a SAT preparation book in front of me*
what do U think?![]()
You may not realize but to speak Singlish well is a skill too and I'm really lousy with it!. Thus I have to practise loh! Most of my fren are of different international groups, Sgreans frens are the minority. So my opportunity to use Singlish is not as frequent as you guysOriginally posted by Kinokuniya:Yes, I agree.
Isn't it good to be an individual sometimes?Of course it MIGHT be more 'natural' (not sure if I'm putting this the right way) to converse in Singlish with your fellow friends who speak in Singlish as well, but I certainly don't see the need to go to such an extent, learning Singlish and trying to speak Singlish just so you can "blend in" with the crowd.
Might be different from crowd to crowd, but the groups of friends that I have, and the groups of friends of my friends, no matter what kind of English they speak, the moment someone starts to speak proper English, the rest naturally begin to follow suit.